Tax Policy

M-S Cash Drawer charges tax for all will-call orders or orders shipped to the state of CA, CT, FL, IL, LA, MD, TN unless a customer has a tax exemption / resale certificate for the respective states. This applies to both shipments from an M-S warehouse as well as drop shipments from vendors such as Avery Brecknell / Salter, Elo, Epson, or Pioneer POS to name a few. Please contact your Sales or Customer Service Representative for a comprehensive list of such states and vendors.

Beginning March 1, 2019, as a result of the recent U.S. Supreme Court decision and the enactment of the new sales tax standards by various states, we will be forced to begin collecting sales tax on sales for deliveries into certain states.

Certain states require a "state-specific" resale certificate. These seven (7) states are: California (Resale Certificate), Connecticut (Sales & Use Tax Permit expires every 2 years), Florida (Resale Certificate expires yearly), Illinois (IL Business Authorization for Sales & Use Tax permit expires every 5 years), Louisiana (LA Resale Certificate form R-1064 expires every 3 years), Maryland (Resale Certificate / Permit), and Tennessee (Resale Certificate / Permit). If you anticipate shipping into any of these seven states, please provide M-S with the relevant "state-specific" resale certificate and Sales Tax Permit so that the sales will be nontaxable. If you are unable to provide a valid, state-specific resale certificate M-S will be required to collect sales tax on applicable shipments into above states beginning March 1, 2019. For shipments to CA, we can also accept your customers (the ship to) CA permit number on the Uniform Resale Certificate made out to your company (their vendor). For shipments to TN, we can also accept your customers (the ship to) TN permit number on the Uniform Resale Certificate made out to your company (their vendor).

  • Separately from the above seven (7) states, if you anticipate shipping into any of the following 21 states M-S needs to have on file (only) your valid home-state certificate. (All 21 of these states accept other state's certificates, so your home-state certificate is fine.) This applies to the following 21 states:
    • Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.
  • There are certain states which have an expiration date on their certificates such as: Arizona, Colorado, Maine, Michigan, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wisconsin. If you are supplying a resale certificate from any of these 9 states please be sure to provide your Sales Tax Permit showing the expiration date.

We understand these changes may affect your business, so please be sure and reach out to your company's tax advisors with any questions or concerns.

You can obtain more information about these tax-law changes and how to register to obtain resale certificates in the state-specific states at the following websites:

California Illinois Tennessee
Connecticut Louisiana  
Florida Maryland  

Please forward your resale certificates and completed M-S multi state US resale certificate form to cmeekins@mscashdrawer.com. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact Catherine Meekins at
(800) 544-1749, ext. 249.

Thank you for your continued business!